JR West


JR West (also known by it’s full name: Western Japan Railway Company) was formed in 1987 with the privatization of JNR, and runs railway services west of Mie and Gifu prefectures, all the way to Yamaguchi, including the metropolitan areas of Osaka, Kyoto and Kobe. It operates also in Ishikawa, Fukui and Toyama prefectures.

JR West has the lowest revenue/kilometer ratio among the top three JR Group companies (East, Central and West), as it has to compete with fierce private railways such as Hankyu, Keihan, Kintetsu and Hanshin even on inter-city services (contrary to the Greater Tokyo Metropolitan Area, where private railways operate mainly suburban networks, and inter-city competition with JR East is scarce).

As a result of this, JR West cannot afford to make large-scale replacements like JR East or JR Central did, and to this day it runs the largest fleet of ex-JNR stock still in operation.


Due to the strong competition with private railways, JR West is infamous for pushing it’s schedules, crews and rolling stock to the limit, and employing harsh penalties (Nikkin Kyuko – “Retraining”) for those that fail to keep up to those extremely tight schedules. As a result of this, crews are under constant pressure (especially on main lines around Osaka), and such company-induced stress often causes accidents or even disasters (such as the 2005 Amagasaki Derailment).

In other words, JR West is famous for being a dick to it’s own employees.





San’yo Shinkansen, Hakata-Minami Line






Keihanshin Area Urban Network

Tokaido Line (JR Kyoto and Kobe Lines)

(trough-services with the Kosei Line, the San’yo Main Line and the Fukuchiyama Line)

Local services







Rapid services






Osaka Loop Line, Sakurajima Line (and trough-services between the two).



Hanwa Line (trough-services on the Osaka Loop Line to Osaka and Tennoji)












Yamatoji and Nara Lines (trough-services on the Osaka Loop Line to Osaka and Tennoji)








Fukuchiyama Line (JR Takarazuka Line)

 trough-services with the JR Kyoto, JR Tozai and Gakkentoshi Lines














Regional Trunk Lines

Kosei Line 

Local services and rapid trough-services with the JR Kyoto Line







Local trough-services from the JR Kyoto Line








San’in Main Line, Sagano Line

Kyoto – Kinosaki-Onsen electrified section only







non-electrified section only




San’yo Main Line


















Kansai Main Line




Takayama Main Line






Local Lines

Obama Line






Nanao Line






Wakayama, Sakurai and Kisei Lines










Kakogawa Line




Fukuen Line

electrified section (Fukuyama to Fuchu)





















non-electrified section (Fuchu to Miyoshi)




Etsumi-Hoku Line (trough-services on the Hokuriku Main Line up to Fukui)






Oito Line








Kisuki Line






Hakubi Line, Tsuyama Line, Inbi Line, Kishin Line




Geibi Line




Mine Line




Toyamako Line (converted into the Toyama PortTram Line in 2006)




Sanko Line (closed in 2018)



Diesel Locomotives




















Train icons made by Curoka