JR East

JR East is one of the main companies of the JR Group. Formed in 1987, with the privatization of the National Railways, it operates from north of mount Fuji, all the way up to the Tsugaru Strait, including the fundamental Tokyo Metropolitan area and the Kanto, Tohoku and Koshin’etsu (Northeastern Chubu, around Niigata) rural areas.

Depsite not being the wealthiest or more profitable (wich would be JR Central, due to the Tokaido Shinkansen), JR East is still one of (if not the) most important railway company of Japan, and depsite having the longest Shinkansen network of the JR Group, JR East’s main source of income comes from commuter trains moving people in, out and trough the vast Greater Tokyo Metropolitan Area.

Among it’s staggering 83 subsidiaries, (including IT companies, real estate, retail, hotel and resturant businneses) there’s J-TREC (former Tokyu Car Co.), one of Japan’s main rolling stock manufacturers, and Tokyo Monorail.





Tohoku Shinkansen

Yamabiko, Nasuno and Aoba services





Super Yamabiko services




Komachi services (via Akita Shinkansen)






Tsubasa services (via Yamagata Shinkansen)






Joetsu Shinkansen, Gala-Yuzawa Line

Asahi services



Toki and Tanigawa services










Nagano/Hokuriku Shinkansen

Asama services




Non-revenue earning rolling stock

All Shinkansen Lines



Tohoku, Joetsu and Nagano Shinkansen Lines only





Tokyo Area main urban, suburban and commuter lines

Yamanote Line






Keihin-Tohoku Line, Negishi Line










Chuo Line, Ome Line, Itsukaichi Line

Azusa and Kaiji Limited Express services (Tokyo to Matsumoto and Nagano)











Rapid Services (Tokyo to Takao, some services up to Otsuki)





Chuo Main Line “Eastern Section” (Takao to Shiojiri, some services down to Tachikawa)







Fuji Excursion and various charter trains






Chuo-Sobu Line













Trough-Services with the Tozai Subway Line








Saikyo Line

Trough-services with the Kawagoe Line and the TWR Rinkai Line




Tokaido Main Line (Rapid Service), Ito Line










Yokosuka Line, Sobu Line Rapid Service

Local and Rapid services





Sanzami, Wakashio, Shiosai and Ayame limited express services




Joban Line 

Htiachi limited express (Ueno to Sendai)



1500v DC-only commuter EMUs (Ueno-Toride section only)



Trough-services with the Chiyoda Subway Line (1500v DC Ayase-Toride section only)





Suburban multivoltage EMUs (1500v DC / 20Kv 50hz AC section up to Mito station)










Yokohama Line

some trough-services with the Negishi Line




Nambu Line










Keiyo Line

trough-services with the Musashino Line









Special limited express services and charter trains




Musashino Line

trough-services with the Keiyo and Chuo Rapid Lines

Local Services











Musashino Rapid Service








Tokyo Area secondary commuter, suburban and local lines


Kawagoe and Hachiko Lines












Sagami Line




Tsurumi Line




Sobu Main Line, Sotobo, Uchibo, Togane and Kashima Lines

Sanzami, Shiosai, Wakashio and Ayame limited express services



Local and Rapid services






Narita Line

trough-services with the Joban Line and the Kashima Line








Ryomo, Joetsu and Takasaki Lines








Utsunomiya Line

Nikko limited express service (trough-running with the Tobu Nikko Line)





Local services (whole line)







Local services (Utsunomiya to Kuroiso section only)






Nikko Line




Mito Line









Tohoku Area


Joban Line, Tohoku Main Line and related branchlines

Hitachi limited express (Ueno to Sendai)



Local services (AC/DC multivoltage trains – for services north of Mito)





Local services (AC-only trains)




Tsugaru Line

Hakucho limited express (Shin-Aomori to Hakodate via the Seikan tunnel)




Ou Main Line

1435mm standard-gauge section 

Akita Shinkansen Komachi services (via Tohoku Shinkansen)



Yamagata Shinkansen Tsubasa services (via Tohoku Shinkansen)





“Yamagata Line” (Yamagata-Shinjo) standard gauge services



1067mm narrow-gauge section 

Kamoshika limited express (Akita to Aomori)



Local services






Ban’etsu West Line

Viva Aizu limited express (Koriyama to Aizu-Wakamatsu)



Local services






Senseki Line (1500v DC)








Nagano Area


Shin’etsu Main Line, Chuo Main Line, Shinonoi Line, Oito Line

Azusa and Kaiji limited expresses (Tokyo to Matsumoto and Nagano)











Asama limited expresses (Ueno to Nagano or Naoetsu)



Hakusan and Noto limited expresses (Ueno to Kanazawa)



Local services













Niigata Area


Shin’etsu Main Line, Echigo Line, Hakushin Line

Inaho, Hokuetsu, Kubikino and Minori limited expresses 



Local services












Yahiko Line










Charter trains




Diesel Locomotives














Non-Revenue-earning rolling stock

Inspection trains




Experimental and testbed rolling stock




Depot and maintainance works dedicated shunters










Training rolling stock















Train icons made by Curoka